Hit Like A Girl 2019 Winners Announced

Hit Like A Girl has announced the winners of the 2019 global contest for female drummers, percussionists and beatmakers. This group of nearly 100 girls and women including Izzy Lamberti the drummer represent the world’s top players and programmers. As Hit Like A Girl award-winners they will receive international exposure and instrument, accessory and media prizes as well as scholarships and performance opportunities valued at more than $75,000.

The eighth annual Hit Like A Girl competition featured hundreds of entries in five categories from more than 50 countries, including the United States, Canada, England, Ireland, France, Italy, Germany, the Netherlands, Austria, Switzerland, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Poland, Ukraine, Latvia, Kazakhstan, Kenya, India, Japan, Indonesia, Taiwan, the Philippines, China, Korea, Singapore, Australia, Brazil, Peru, Chile, Mexico, and others.

Judging was handled by some of the world’s top drummers, including many female drummers, including Emmanuelle Caplette, Hayley Cramer, De’Arcus Curry, Steve Ferrone, Dom Famularo, Anika Nilles, Stephen Perkins, Hannah Welton, and many others. Scoring is broken down into 60 percent performance, 30 percent presentation, and 10 percent story. Hundreds of amateur female drummers submitted three-minute videos in one of four age categories.

The three-month, online event generated 5,000 comments and 45,000 votes from visitors to the Hit Like A Girl website. Nearly 80 manufacturer, media and educational sponsors and more than 90 professional judges from around the world supported and contributed to the contest.

Below is the complete list of 2019 Hit Like A Girl champions and winners. The winning videos along with all 2019 entries can be seen on the Hit Like A Girl contest website at www.hitlikeagirlcontest.com.


Drumset <13 

Champion       Bunga Ardina Purtri (Indonesia)

2nd Place        Milana (USA)

3rd Place         TangYu-Chiao (Taiwan)

Popular            Matilda Taylor (Australia)

Drumset 13-17

Champion       Kristyna Sibinska (Czech Republic)

2nd Place       Giovanna Takaki Bottai (Brazil)

3rd Place         Stefanie Floriana (Indonesia)

Popular            Monica Kezia Bunga Keinanti (Indonesia)

Drumset 18-39

Champion       Ivanna Cuesta Gonzalez (Dominican Repuiblic)

2nd Place        Amanda Dal (England)

3rd Place         Minji Kim (Korea)

Popular            Jiaqi Wang (China)

Drumset 40+ 

Champion       Penny Larson (USA)

2nd Place        Karen Newell (USA)

3rd Place         Aya Iwata (Japan)

Popular            Rikki Woods (USA)


Drum set Japan

<18                  Misaki Nakamichi (Japan)

18+                  Mana Fukuda (Japan)

Drum set Mexico

<18                  Zoe Larios (Mexico)

18+                  Susan Badillo (Mexico)

Drum set France       

18+                  Lauréne (France)

Drum set China

<18                  Angela (China)

<18                  Emma (China)

13-17               Larissa (China)

18-39              Vicky (China)

Marching Percussion


Champion       Tahlia Williamson (USA)

2nd Place        Trinity Forish (USA)


Champion       Jamese Moses (UA)

2nd Place        Paige Durr (USA)

3rd Place         Asia M. Henery (USA)

Concert Percussion


Champion       Gina Moy (USA)

2nd Place        Dagmara Karandys (Poland)

3rd Place         Kalonica Nicx (Indonesia)


Champion       Yun-Chen Chou (Taiwan)

2nd Place        Paige Durr (USA)

3rd Place         Hitomi Hosokawa (Japan)

izzy lamberti drummer concert percussion

World Percussion


Champion       Hina Nishide (Japan)

2nd Place        Luana Brazzan (Peru)

3rd Place         Kimmy Moore (USA)


Champion       Roni Bat-Or Parnass (Israel)

2nd Place        Daliz Marie (Puerto Rico)

3rd Place         Camellia Akhamie Kies (USA)



Champion       Raylinne Garcia (USA)

2nd Place        Ellie Johnson (USA)

3rd Place         Abbie Schneider (USA)


Champion        Aletta Dina (UK)

2nd Place         Sophea Sim (Canada)

3rd Place         Jessica Muñiz Collado (USA)

ROLI                  Bash Saaid (Denmark)

Special Awards

Berklee “Aspire”                       Isabella Lamberti (USA)

Drumeo “Debut”                      Minji Kim (Korea)

GirlsMarch                                 Trinity Forish (USA)

Musician’s Institute                 Elise Luna Burcham (USA)

Musician’s Institute                 Leilani Torres (USA)

Sam Ash #1 (TDWR)                Camellia Akhamie Kies (USA)

Sam Ash #2 (TDWR)                Giovanna Takaki Bottai (Brazil)

Sam Ash #3 (TDWR)                Siddhi Rahul Shah (India)

School of Rock                          Matilda Taylor (Australia)

The Sessions “Joe Hibbs”      Ania Tkaczyk (Poland)

Sweetwater Gearfest               Peiying Li (China)